Canada’s Largest City is Now The Wettest – Toronto Storm

10 Jul
Getting ready for blackout with some coffe-flavoured Patron and sheesha

Getting ready for blackout with some coffe-flavoured Patron and sheesha

It has been a wet summer indeed but Monday storm was out of the ordinary!

I  was heading for my Hot Yoga class with a friend on Monday just as the storm was starting.   The rain was coming in Biblical proportions and I was seriously considering staying home.  My friend laughed off my concerns saying that we are going to get wet anyway.  Well, wet we got!  We walked to the studio in a gushing ankle-deep water and arrived fully soaked (even my family-sized umbrella didn’t help!).   Surprisingly, the class was full 🙂  As we got to the floor series of poses the power in the studio was out – we finished our class in complete darkness and without the heat.  Luckily my place had electricity but no hot water.  I didn’t get it back until 2 pm Tuesday – our basement became flooded and building management shut off the hot water tank as a precaution.   My friend spend the rest of her evening in a coffee shop as her place didn’t have power and she couldn’t even charge her phone.

But I can’t complain about my misadventure considering many people had it much worse.  Toronto got a record-breaking 126 mm of rain onto which flooded the city within 1 hour.  About 300,000 homes and business were without power, some of them are still without electricity even today.

There was no subway service and GO trains were stranded at some stations. Water was up to the lower deck windows, some passengers were rescued by the police Marine Unit by floating devices, then they were talking about getting the upper deck passengers out by Zip line… I am attaching some photos of the disaster taken by my friends:

Flooded subway in Toronto

Flooded subway in Toronto

This was only half the line for a shuttle bus! The line went around the corner and up the stairs outside!

Latest news – Environment Canada just issued another severe thunderstorm watch expected later this afternoon. Toronto, brace yourself one more time!

 

 

 

12 Responses to “Canada’s Largest City is Now The Wettest – Toronto Storm”

  1. abrooke65 July 10, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

    Wow that’s amazing. Thanks for sharing those pics. Nature is such a force! On Jul 10, 2013 1:00 PM, “The Kat & the Falling Leaves” wrote: > > The Kat and The Falling Leaves posted: ” It has been a wet summer indeed but Monday storm was out of the ordinary! I was heading for my Hot Yoga class with a friend on Monday just as the storm was starting. The rain was coming in Biblical proportions and I was seriously considering sta” >

  2. theworldoutsidethewindow July 10, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    Wishing you and everyone in Toronto safety and a quick return to normal..

  3. ChgoJohn July 10, 2013 at 11:23 pm #

    I saw pics of the flooding and could not believe it! The clouds opened up and seemingly dumped a lake on your poor City. I hope that’s the last of it for you all.

  4. sarahnsh July 11, 2013 at 12:16 pm #

    Wow, those pictures are crazy, especially of the one where they are in the subway and that one guy had to sit cross legged on his seat to escape the water! I hope it dries up for you soon and the rain calms down! I do find it funny though the yoga class was packed! Seems like everyone was super dedicated or maybe they were thinking of the studio as a rain hideout. 😉

  5. essentjewels July 11, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

    Wow, hopefully you are all safe and that has cleared up.

  6. kittehluvs July 23, 2013 at 10:45 am #

    Wow – I couldn’t believe it when my dad and stepmom told me about this (they live in Etobicoke). Madness! It seems that the flooding that hit us in the southern US moved north! My step grandparents had their basement flooded (and some sewage backed up too, ew)….scary!

Leave a Reply

