“A walk about Paris will provide lessons in history, beauty, and in the point of Life.” Thomas Jefferson

15 May

 

Still rings true!

I can totally see how this city had inspired poets and artists for ages with its beautiful buildings, countless cafes, parks, wide boulevards and an atmosphere of perpetual romance.

Parc Monceau, classical collonade

Classical Collonda in the Parc Monceau

We stayed at the apartment in 17th arrondissment, not far away from the Parc Monceau.  It is a beautiful place where you can actually forget you’re in the city for a few minutes. The park has many play areas for children and free Wi-Fi (how cool is that?). We walked around the park and then went to the Arc of Triomphe.

Arc de Triomphe

How can you not be in awe?  Very wonderful to actually see in person, so beautifully carved and inscribed.

From there we made our way to the Eiffel Tower.  No words or pictures can convey its beauty, it just simply amazing!

Obligatory shot at the Eiffel Tower

Obligatory shot at the Eiffel Tower

The following day we met with my friend and a fellow Salsa dancer who lives in Paris now.  She took us to Place Des Vosges in Marais.  Interesting and historic, it made us feel as if we hopped back in the old Paris.  Contains the house of Victor Hugo (free entrance, but unfortunately it was closed that day).

Meeting to catch up at Place des Vosges

Meeting to catch up at Place des Vosges

From there we continues to walk around Le Marais. This small neighborhood has so much flavour! Streets are narrow, full of small fashion shops, cafes, chocolate and patisserie shops.  My friend suggested to have falafel for lunch… what can I say, if you are in this area,  it’s a must!

Narrow street in Le Marais

Narrow street in Le Marais

Chateau de Versailles is one of the attractions that we wanted to visit no matter what.  I have to say that we enjoyed the gardens more than the palace because the palace was so crowded and the line up to get in is insane.  We also found the info recorded in the audio devices to be “dry” and super-boring.  The palace is spectacular but the poorly organized crowds spoiled the whole experience.  Very disappointing!

The Palace of Versailles

 

19 Responses to ““A walk about Paris will provide lessons in history, beauty, and in the point of Life.” Thomas Jefferson”

  1. abrooke65 May 15, 2013 at 10:36 am #

    WOW! I’m so jealous of your trip! Enjoy Enjoy Enjoy! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Trèsors De Luxe May 15, 2013 at 10:57 am #

    Stunning! Sometimes, a walk all you need to get a proper perspective 😀

  3. essentjewels May 15, 2013 at 11:13 am #

    What a beautiful place.

  4. Cindy May 15, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

    Thanks for sharing such beautiful pictures. It is amazing the things you “see” when you slow down and enjoy your surroundings 😀

  5. Sheryl May 16, 2013 at 12:06 am #

    Wonderful photos!. . and I really liked the Thomas Jefferson quote.

  6. Boomdeeadda May 16, 2013 at 12:07 am #

    Did you get to go up Eiffel? It’s one of the most favourite City’s I’ve traveled too. I also love that it’s so walkable. We never went to Versailles, but did the Louvre instead, sounds like we made the right choice, that’s really a shame it’s so unorganized. We also went to Napoleon’s Tomb, so interesting. You may enjoy that. Have Fun! You look beautiful.

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves May 16, 2013 at 10:35 am #

      No, we didn’t go up Eiffel – the line up was way too long. You are the second person who mentioned Napoleon’s Tomb as a must to see. I guess I’d have to to it next time I am in Paris as we back in TO now.
      Thank you for the compliment 🙂

  7. kocsiska May 16, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

    Hey Kat! I was trying to find how to private message you, but I have no idea how to do it haha, so I will just ask here. I’m back in Toronto and was really interested in taking some salsa lessons…are you guys gonna be offering it anytime soon? I already added the group to facebook but I didn’t see anything about lessons. My e-mail is katrinkocsis@hotmail.com, probably easier to talk there 🙂

  8. WordsFallFromMyEyes May 31, 2013 at 5:39 am #

    My gosh, this is wonderful – just wonderful. I really enjoyed this. Oh, for want of Paris….

  9. My Heathen Heart June 7, 2013 at 1:14 am #

    So beautiful!

  10. angelanowak July 27, 2013 at 10:31 am #

    That is my dream as well to visit Paris one day. I love Balzac writings. I will see this city in person one day!!! Did you find it difficult not to be able to talk in French or if you do speak French – how hard it is to get around the city that is my only concern?

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves July 29, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

      It is a charming city 🙂 I found Paris Métro (subway) to be user-friendly. My daughter speaks decent French so that was very helpful. My bf and I spoke English and didn’t have any issues communicating while getting around.

Leave a Reply

