What Do Salsa Dancers Eat?

17 Mar

Our Team's Potluck

Team’s Potluck Theme – Healthy.  Great food!

Lately, I haven not been blogging regularly  – our rehearsal schedule is jam-packed.  We are 2 weeks away from debuting our new routine, this is what we are calling the “crunch phase” 🙂

Great Rehearsal!

 Great rehearsal last night! 

Knowing that on Saturday night a 4-hour rehearsal will be followed by the 3-hour costume fitting the girls decided to have a potluck to keep our energy levels up.

On the menu:

  • Quinoa Salad with Kale;
  • Buckwheat with Mushrooms;
  • Chickpeas with Tomatoes, Cucumbers and Feta;
  • Almond Biscotti and Fruits.

I have my favourite biscotti recipe but it’s somewhat time consuming.  Since I was pressed for time yesterday I decided to try a new recipe which promised 45 min (including prep and cooking time).

Almond Biscotti

Almond Biscotti (Yields 16)

Adapted from Healthy Heart Miracle Diet cookbook.

Ingredients :

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 raw organic sugar
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2  cup ground almonds
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds (raw)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F.  Coat a baking sheet with cooking spray.
  2. With an electric mixer, beat the eggs and sugar in a large bowl until the sugar is dissolved and the mixture is light and fluffy.
  3. Combine the flour, cinnamon, baking powder, and almonds in a food processor and pulse until the almonds are chopped.  Fold into the eggs to make a stiff batter.
  4. Spoon the batter onto  the baking sheet making 2 logs, leaving about 3 inches between.  Bake for 20 minutes.  Remove from the oven and reduce the temperature to 325F.
  5. Use 2 spatulas to slide the logs to a cutting board.  Cut into diagonal slices (1-inch wide).  Place the slices, cut side down, on the baking sheet and return to the oven.  Bake until golden, 10 to 12 minutes.  Cool on a wire rack.

 

 

13 Responses to “What Do Salsa Dancers Eat?”

  1. Animalcouriers March 17, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

    Ha ha, hope the crunch phase keeps you going. You’ll be burning up those calories, so no guilt!

  2. Boomdeeadda March 18, 2013 at 12:37 am #

    You’re a real inspiration Kat, I see all the yummy food you make and you’re so healthy and fit. I’ve never eaten much meat, only turkey actually over the past year and now I’ve decided to not buy any meat for me at all. So that’s a small change that I’m working on. So far three weeks and counting.

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves April 26, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

      Sorry for the delayed response. I am sure you can do it!
      I am not eating much meat and I honestly can say that I don’t miss it .

  3. essentjewels March 18, 2013 at 11:21 am #

    Those are some long days!

    The food looks great!

  4. Cristi M. March 21, 2013 at 1:17 am #

    Tagged ! You’re it !!! For more info, see
    http://cristimoise.wordpress.com/2013/03/20/tagged-youre-it/

  5. vision5d2012 March 22, 2013 at 1:53 am #

    Hi Kat — All the best to you and the other ladies on your team for your new routine debut! Congrats on the healthy food, too. What an inspiration you are! Love and hugs, Alia

  6. knowledgeknut March 25, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    Since I’m on a break – naturally I’ve had the chance to catch up on a few things. Here you are my dear – you’ve been tagged! Go here to see the break down: http://knowledgeknut.wordpress.com/2013/03/25/ive-been-tagged-by-utesmile/

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves April 26, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

      Thank you for tagging me! I have been MIA due to an intense dance schedule and family obligations. Will be catching up after mid-May as I am going on a trip.

      • knowledgeknut April 26, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

        Not a problem my dear! Glad to know you are ok, just busy. (Busy is really good) and hopefully having fun while you are at it.

        Congratulations and I am looking forward to your answers!

  7. The Eye-Dancers March 29, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

    Hello! I hope you don’t mind being nominated for a blog award.:) I’ve just nominated you for a HUG Award. Please click here for more info: http://eyedancers.wordpress.com/2013/03/29/a-hug-award-and-one-lovely-blog-award/ Thanks!–Mike

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves April 26, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

      Thank you so much Mike! I have been MIA due to crazy dance schedule and family obligations. I will be catching up with my awards no sooner than mid-May as I am going on a trip.

Leave a Reply

