Gluten Free Cake with Almonds and Polenta

10 Mar

Gluten Free CakeI am not much of a baker and don’t have a major sweet tooth.  But once a in while I am craving something sweet and if I come across a recipe that  doesn’t require fancy ingredients it always makes me want to bake.

Couple of weeks ago, Rachel on Rachel Eats wrote about baking this cake.  It looked absolutely perfect!  The process didn’t seem  intimidating which is always a plus in my books 🙂 I’ve substituted some all of the ingredients so I didn’t have to run to the store.

The cake is not cloyingly sweet, very aromatic and goes well with a cup of coffee or tea.

Adapted from Rachel’s recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 cup raw organic sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • zest and juice of 1 orange
  • 1 cup ground almonds
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal (polenta)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp ground cardamom

for the glaze: juice of 1 large grapefruit

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 F.
  2. Mix all of the ingredients and transfer to a greased pan.
  3. Bake for 30 minutes, turn down the heat to 325 F and bake for another 25-30 min.
  4. Spike holes into the top of the cake while it still warm and in its pan and pour over freshly squeezed grapefruit juice.
  5. Let it cool, take out of the pan and serve.

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Gluten Free Cake with Almonds and Polenta”

  1. rachel March 10, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

    looks perfect. I love the idea of a simple grapefruit glaze. Rx

  2. Darya March 10, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

    Yummy! I had seen Rachel’s cake, now yours. I like experimenting with gluten free baking (though I fail more than I succeed), and this sounds like something I could tackle!

  3. Boomdeeadda March 10, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

    Yum, I have a friend who’s strictly gluten free for health reasons, I can take this to our next Ukrainian hen party. PS, We had Ricotta Pancakes for supper on Friday, we’re officially addicted. LOL

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves March 10, 2013 at 11:46 pm #

      I am not allergic to gluten but this cake is seriously good so I am sure your friends will like it too.
      I am making ricotta pancakes every other week, we are addicted too LOL.

Leave a Reply

