Mad for Peanut Butter? Try this soup!

11 Feb

Peanut Butter Soup

As you may have noticed in my previous posts, we eat a lot of soup through the cold late Fall and Winter months (Click here and  here).  Some soups served as a first course, while others, more substantial versions, are the meal itself (click here and here).  This delicious soup is one of those soups that is hearty enough to stand alone.  The soup has a bisque-like consistency without the cream – the peanut butter melts into the broth!

This robust and creamy vegetarian soup is very satisfying. You may think you’re cheating by eating such an indulgent dish, but fear not– it’s full of good-for-you mono-saturated fatty acids.  Another reason to love this soup is that it comes together in a snap and cooks up in little time. I’ve tried this wonderful soup three years ago and it has become one of our favorites.

Adapted from the Flat Belly Diet Cookbook:

Ingredients (Serves 4)

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 ribs of selery, chopped
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 3 cups water or vegetable broth
  • 1/2 cup natural unsalted peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp freshly squeezed lime juice
  • fresh cilantro, chopped (I used dill)

Directions:

  1. Heat the oil in a large pot over medium-high heat.  Add the onion, celery, and carrots; cook for 5 minutes.
  2. Add the garlic and 2 cups of water.  
  3. Cover and simmer for 30 minutes over low heat until vegetable are very tender.
  4. Transfer the vegetable to a food processor or a blender and process until smooth.
  5. Return to the pot and stir in the peanut butter, lime juice and remaining 1 cup of water.
  6. Cook for another 5 minutes until the peanut butter melts.
  7. Garnish with chopped cilantro or any other fresh herb and serve.
17 Responses to “Mad for Peanut Butter? Try this soup!”

  1. Boomdeeadda February 11, 2013 at 3:21 am #

    This is the first time I’ve ever seen peanut butter in soup. Seems like something we’d have at a Tia Restaurant, we love Tia food. Since we got a panini press, we love soup for supper too. Thanks for the recipe Kat!

  2. Our Ukrainian Adoption February 11, 2013 at 3:43 am #

    One of our winter favorites is a spicy peanut butter-sweet potato soup. So good! This one sounds amazing as well, and I believe we have everything we need to make it here in UA. Yum!

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves February 11, 2013 at 9:45 am #

      I would love to try your variety with sweet potatoes!

      P.S. Did you move your blog by any chance? I am not able to read any of your recent posts 😦

      • Our Ukrainian Adoption February 11, 2013 at 10:58 am #

        I’ve been password protecting the posts while we are in process (just in case!) but I’m happy to share. Just shoot me an email and I’ll send you the password(email is on sidebar).

  3. abrooke65 February 11, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    My uncle makes a version of this soup and I ditch my family and go down to his house on Thanksgiving just to have HIS soup. My mom gets so pissed. It is FABULOUS. He adds thyme instead of dill or cilantro, but MAN is that good soup!!!

  4. Melisa R February 11, 2013 at 12:20 pm #

    As soon as I read the title, I knew I had to try this soup! How scrumptious looking. Another recipe I must try.

  5. Kim @ Tranquil Dreams February 11, 2013 at 12:50 pm #

    I’ve just started this peanut butter addiction…so this soup is on my list to try out 🙂 Looks delicious!

  6. Sheryl February 11, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

    The soup looks delicious. I have a vague memory of eating peanutbutter soup that a friend made years ago. I’ll have to try this recipe and see if it’s similar to what I remember.

  7. dannadesigns February 12, 2013 at 3:52 am #

    Sounds yummy!

  8. vision5d2012 February 12, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

    Looks positively scrumptious! We also have been eating a lot of soup lately. I just made my last quart of pureed pumpkin into a cross between Thai and Indian soup, using lots of coconut oil to fry the onions in and then again to stir fry some deep emerald kale that I added to the mix. Just before serving I added partially diluted coconut milk in to make it creamy. UMMM! No more fresh pumpkin til next fall but I could try it with Butternut squash and see how it goes. Thanks for this great idea. Much love, alia

Leave a Reply

