Roasted Bell Pepper and Avocado Sandwich with Dijon and Buckwheat Honey

8 Feb

Roasted Red Pepper Sandwich

Adapted from the Flat Belly Diet Cookbook

These days I am dancing up to 12 hours a week.  I get plenty of exercise and I want to make sure that I eat as healthy as possible and keep up my energy for dance.  Each meal I eat is balanced containing fruits/vegetables, carbs, proteins and healthy fats.

This vegetarian sandwich is very filling and the best part that it’s slightly over 300 calories.  This makes a light lunch which takes less than 10 minutes to prepare.

I shared this recipe with the girls in our Team and they all like it 🙂

Have got to stay in shape to fit into this sexy Salsa costume!

Ingredients:

  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp buckwheat honey (pure natural unpasteurized)
  • 2 tbsp light ricotta cheese
  • 1 small (6-inch) chipotle whole grain tortilla 
  • 1 red bell pepper, roasted (I used a jarred variety this time)
  • 1/4 avocado, sliced

Directions:

  1. Combine the mustard and honey and spread it on the tortilla.
  2. Top it with the ricotta cheese, pepper and avocado.
15 Responses to “Roasted Bell Pepper and Avocado Sandwich with Dijon and Buckwheat Honey”

  1. belladonic haze February 8, 2013 at 11:07 am #

    Wiping drool off the screen…that dish looks amazing!

  2. sethsnap February 8, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

    Wow, good eats!

  3. vision5d2012 February 9, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

    Well I kept going back and forth from the food to the Team and I could not decide which one looks more delicious! It’s a tie.Gorgeous food for Gorgeous gals — keep on dancin’ Alia

  4. Sheryl February 9, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

    I’ll have to try this recipe. I love rich taste of Buckwheat honey–though it sometimes is difficult to find.

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves February 10, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

      I buy it at my local Italian supermarket. You may substitute Buckwheat honey for another variety – it still will taste good.

  5. Boomdeeadda February 9, 2013 at 11:34 pm #

    I have to get into a dance class….you all look A-mazing and it promotes good eating too. I love those jarred Red Bell Peppers. I buy the Mezzita brand. The make delicious pickled carrots too.

  6. dannadesigns February 10, 2013 at 4:37 am #

    That sandwich sounds delicious!

  7. Oleg February 16, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

    WoW. You look so gorgeous and so beautiful, good job!

  8. russianmartini September 26, 2013 at 11:28 pm #

    Sassy ladies!! Love it!

Leave a Reply

