Why People Fall in Love with Salsa

28 Jan

Our Team at the 2011 Vancouver International Salsafestival

My friend and a fellow dancer Christian P. from Regina posted this question on his Facebook page.  It made me think why I fell in love with this dance and this is what I came up with:

  1. It is a beautiful dance, very elegant and explosive at the same time.
  2. I love Salsa music – it always puts a smile on my face.  
  3. Helps to manage stress.
  4. Builds self-confidence.
  5. You get a complete body workout while having fun.  Some researchers claim you can burn up to 400 calories per hour!  
  6. It improves balance and coordination.  Try doing multiple spins without falling over 🙂
  7. Sharpens memory – I love learning new routines, it requires to memorize very intricate footwork.
  8. I love performing and everything that comes with it  – beautiful Salsa costumes, creative makeup and hair.
  9. I have lots friends that I met through Salsa.  I met my amazing boyfriend through Salsa!
  10. Makes you part of a global community.  I’ve danced Salsa in Germany, Israel, Ukraine and the United States.  It’s wonderful to see people of all  ages, backgrounds and cultures dancing together.

18 Responses to “Why People Fall in Love with Salsa”

  1. abrooke65 January 28, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

    Me encanta la salsa! Viva el baile!

  2. Boomdeeadda January 28, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

    I saw your halloween outfit and it’s working! You look amazing. What’s better than having fun and staying fit? Awesome. I also love that you all wear a special flower on your ankle too.

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves January 28, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

      Thank you! I hate going to the gym – I rely on dancing and Bikram yoga to stay fit.
      The special flower was part of the whole costume – I added another picture 🙂

      • Boomdeeadda January 28, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

        WOW, having the time of you life and you all look so pretty. Are you wearing purple or maybe white? It’s hard for me to see. I would have to be on a diet all year to wear that outfit…LOL

      • The Kat and The Falling Leaves January 29, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

        You train for 3 months and you won’t recognize yourself. Yes, I am in purple and yellow (the lights are so bright it looks white).

  3. rebecca2000 January 28, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

    What a fun way to stay fit.

  4. kocsiska January 28, 2013 at 10:20 pm #

    I love salsa, but I think I need professional help to learn how to dance! I’m going back to Toronto in May, and I really want to get into it (from beginner level hehe 😉 do you have any suggestions of some good places?

  5. sarahnsh January 29, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    Salsa dancing is so much fun, I gotta get back into it! I took some free salsa dancing lessons and really enjoyed it, I just gotta find a place where they play salsa and maybe get some more lessons to remember everything. Salsa dancing definitely makes you feel alive!

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves January 29, 2013 at 7:46 pm #

      It is a lot of fun. We are lucky here – Toronto has Salsa nights every day of the week. There is always something happening!

  6. cptnemo7029 January 29, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

    I love you blog. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  7. pflead73 January 30, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

    You’re right… it seems to be staying fit the fun way! I will definitely take up salsa once I move out from my current place 🙂

Leave a Reply

