Svjata Vecherya / Holy Supper – Ukrainian Christmas Eve

7 Jan

Varenyky (dumplings)

Whole Roasted Stuffed Fish

Last night we had our twelve-dish meatless Christmas Eve meal.  I’ve invited over some of my friends as my daughter and  I don’t have any family here.  What a great night we had!  One of the Russian girls said that it was a blast from a past, in a fun way 🙂  We all stay until 2 am and if it wouldn’t be a Sunday night (many had to go to work today) we could have easily stayed another hour or so.

This is what we had :

  1. Kutya 
  2. Herring
  3. Pickled mushrooms
  4. Sauerkraut
  5. Roasted Peppers
  6. Salad “Vinegret”.  Sounds like “Vinaigrette”  but it’s not the oil-and-vinegar dressing in this case.
  7. Borsch /  (no, this is not a typo.  There is no “t” in this word in Ukrainian, Russian and Polish! Here is the actual word written in Cyrillic:  Борщ)
  8. Cabbage Rolls
  9. Whole roasted stuffed fish
  10. Potato-Fried Onion Varenyky
  11. Cabbage Varenyky 
  12. Uzvar 

Herring, pickled mushrooms and sauerkraut were store-bought.  Everything else my daughter and I made from scratch, including Kolach.  I will be sharing some of these recipes in my posts.

28 Responses to “Svjata Vecherya / Holy Supper – Ukrainian Christmas Eve”

  1. Boomdeeadda January 7, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

    Merry Christmas to you and yours! You’re so talented to make all these beautiful traditional dishes. Your table also looked beautiful with your braided bread lighting your meal. How charming. Thanks for stopping at Boomdeeadda today, were much appreciate it!

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves January 7, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

      Thank you for the lovely comment, you are very kind.
      I am trying to keep our traditions alive for my daughter so she’d be able to pass them on to her children when she’ll have her own family.

      • Boomdeeadda January 7, 2013 at 10:25 pm #

        That’s really awesome, I admire that. She’ll be so happy to have these memories and lessons when she’s a big girl.

  2. Esenga' s Voice January 7, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

    Seems like you have had a really wonderful time – for mind, soul as well as for belly. 🙂

  3. sethsnap January 7, 2013 at 6:13 pm #

    Looks good. what is that second picture of?

  4. Arlen Shahverdyan January 7, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    Merry Christmas. Let all the best be for your family! have a wonderful and full of success year! Be blessed with light and love!

    Arlen

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves January 7, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

      Thank you Arlen! Hope your Christmas was joyful, peaceful and bright, xoxo
      N

      • Arlen Shahverdyan January 7, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

        It was very nice! I hope you enjoyed yours! Everything looks very tasty! 🙂 BTW, I love borshch very much and we often eat it at home. Thank you for kind feedback and all the best to your family!

      • The Kat and The Falling Leaves January 7, 2013 at 7:30 pm #

        Borsch is my soup for the soul, lol – we eat it often.

  5. petspeopleandlife January 7, 2013 at 9:15 pm #

    Such a lovely table setting with all of the beautiful dishes. I enjoyed reading about the food of your former country or (homeland) if that is what you prefer. Wonderful.

  6. sarahnsh January 8, 2013 at 1:25 am #

    I am totally a meat girl but it just looks so inviting with the candles and how everything is set up. Love the pictures of the food and it looks really great, especially the dumplings, yum!

  7. Kathleen Huculak January 8, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    Enjoyed ur article about Orthodox Christmas. It brought back many memories when my parents were still alive. My dad came to cnada when he was only 2 yrs. old with his parents and 7 children in1899, and they came from Bokoyvena and settled in Alberta. My inlaws also came in 1898 and aso settled in eastern Aberta. My dad still has family living in the Ukraine, I believe his third cousins. very interestng heritage for me.

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves January 8, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

      I am so glad you enjoyed it! I am from Bukovyna, I made all these dishes just like moya babcja (grandma) and mom made. I hope my daughter will pass it on to her kids 🙂

  8. mpanchuk January 8, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    Reblogged this on virtualborscht.

  9. Kreon Led Lighting January 9, 2013 at 6:14 am #

    good..

  10. Marisa - PictureRealFood January 11, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    All I can say is WOW! I love your menu, and the photo of the stuffed fish is amazing! So many delicious, traditional foods! I may have to import your menu and have my own Ukrainian Christmas Eve Supper next year…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Svjata Vecherya / Holy Supper – Ukrainian Christmas Eve « Kerri Bennett Williamson - January 7, 2013

    […] Svjata Vecherya / Holy Supper – Ukrainian Christmas Eve. […]

  2. Էվրիկա. նորույթ` հայկական բլոգոսֆերայում / Evrika! Innovation in Armenian Blogosphere | Առլեն Շահվերդյան. հեղինակային բլոգ-կայք - January 7, 2013

    […] thekatandthefallingleaves.wordpress.com […]

  3. Authentic Ukrainian Borsch « The Kat & the Falling Leaves - January 9, 2013

    […] borsch is meatless as I made it for our Christmas Eve meal on Sunday.  I personally can’t eat this dish where beets lost their colour.  So if you […]

  4. Whole Roasted Stuffed Fish « The Kat & the Falling Leaves - January 12, 2013

    […] didn’t add any eggs to the stuffing as it was our Christmas Eve dinner which requires dishes with no meat, dairy, and eggs.  For any other occasion I […]

  5. thekatandthefallingleaves blog – Great Ukrainian Content Blog! | Fun To Be Ukrainian - January 14, 2013

    […]   […]

  6. Homemade Ukrainian Varenyky (aka Pierogi) – a Step by Step Recipe « The Kat & the Falling Leaves - January 16, 2013

    […] Varenyky (or pierogi) are comfort food for many people across Eastern Europe and they are such a treat.  We made these for our Christmas Eve Meal. […]

Leave a Reply

