Nice Buns

3 Dec

Whole Wheat Rolls

This weekend I made whole wheat buns in my bread making machine.

Mmmm….The smell of freshly baked bread.  It always gives me a warm feeling and reminds me of home. Nothing beats this aroma!

Researchers claim that the smell of freshly baked bread makes people more kind.  I think they are right 🙂

Adapted from recipetips.com

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon bread machine yeast
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour, plus more as needed
  • 1 cup white flour, or use all whole wheat –buns will be more dense
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon honey ( I used agave syrup)
  • 1 egg

Add all listed ingredients into baking pan and insert it into oven chamber; twist to secure and close lid.  Select “Dough/Pasta Setting”.

When cycle is complete, remove your dough from the machine and turn it out onto a work surface that has been liberally dusted with cornmeal and pat or roll to about 1/2″ thick. 

Cut into approximately 3 inch rounds with a cookie cutter or a jar lid.

Combine the scraps of dough into more muffins, handling as little as possible.

Cover and let rise it for 30 minutes or until double in volume.

Bake at 350F (177C) for 15 to 20 minutes.

9 Responses to “Nice Buns”

  1. rebecca2000 December 3, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    I want some of them buns.

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves December 3, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

      I am sharing, come over Becca 🙂

      • rebecca2000 December 3, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

        I so would 😉 I need to get some of your skinny size zero super yummy food. Maybe some of your stunning beauty would rub off too. Mwah

      • The Kat and The Falling Leaves December 3, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

        I’ll trade you my bread for your red lipstick. Maybe your gorgeousness and wittiness would rub off on me too. XOXO

  2. cptnemo7029 December 10, 2012 at 12:14 am #

    Great buns!!! 😉

  3. Russel Ray Photos December 11, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves December 12, 2012 at 11:27 am #

      You are always welcome to come back and camp here (and people say that we, cats, are territorial :P).
      Thank you for reading!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Won’t You Have an Egg or Something? « The Kat & the Falling Leaves - December 4, 2012

    […] whole wheat  English muffin or whole wheat roll, […]

Leave a Reply

