Salsa Dancing Is For Life

27 Nov

Backstage at the Congress

Almost 10 years ago I discovered Salsa dancing and instantly fell in love with it.  It became such a big part of my life that I can’t remember how I managed without it.  It’s fun, challenging, and there is something new to learn!

First few years used to go out Salsa dancing 6 days a week and even that wasn’t enough.  I took lots of classes and eventually enrolled into instructor’s course and became part of the performance team.  I spent 20 hours weekly teaching, training, performing, and social dancing.  I was in the best shape of my life!

These days I am not immersed in it full time but I continue performing, and occasionally, social dance.  Professional dancing takes a lot of dedication and hard work. Our dance team practices insane amount of hours for months before any Salsa Congress, whether it’s a local or an international event.

This is my favourite routine.  We had performed it back in 2011 at the Vancouver International Salsafestival.

People don’t have to be exceptionally good to enjoy it.  It’s a great form of exercise and it helps people to become more confident.  Plus, it’s a lot better to move on the dance floor than to sit on your butt and eat junk food.

8 Responses to “Salsa Dancing Is For Life”

  1. Esenga' s Voice November 28, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

    No doubts you have got your moves, gal! 🙂 It’ s a really beautiful and firing dance, letting the rhythm take you away. Keep going!

  2. Our Life In 3D December 9, 2012 at 7:48 am #

    Great moves Ms. Kat! It had to take a lot of time to nail like that. I took some ballroom dancing lessons a few years back. Doing the Salsa dances was easily the most fun….but not the easiest. Congrats!

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves December 9, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

      Thank you! I have been doing this for a long time now…practice makes it better :). Thank you for reading and watching 🙂

  3. Boomdeeadda February 14, 2013 at 12:38 am #

    You’re fans were really enjoying it too. I used to figure skate when I was much much younger and always loved the costumes. You look really fit, healthy and beautiful here! BRAVO Kat. Bravo!

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves February 14, 2013 at 12:44 am #

      Thank you again! I used to figure skate when I was a kid – that’s a great activity.
      I am in my early 40s and that’s how I stayfit and healthy – Salsa dancing, Bikram yoga and clean eating.

      • Boomdeeadda February 14, 2013 at 1:01 am #

        Looks like it’s a recipe for success, that is certain. Does your husband love to dance too? I can’t even remember the last time we danced, probably a Christmas party or something.

      • The Kat and The Falling Leaves February 14, 2013 at 1:17 am #

        I met by bf through Salsa dancing! He is not a performer but enjoys dancing socially so we have our regular weekly dance outings.

Leave a Reply

