A Very Special Cat.

20 Nov

My love for cats started when I was 7 years growing up in Ukraine.  I brought home a tiny kitten that I found on the street and begged my parents to let me keep it.  Murka, my first tuxedo cat, was with me for almost 9 years.  After we lost her I’d thought I’d never have another cat again.  She was very special to me and after so many years I still miss her.

During our first Christmas in Canada my daughter wrote a letter to Santa asking for a kitten.  I so badly wanted to make her wish come true as it was a hard time for all of us adjusting in this country. Lucky for me,  a friend of a friend was looking for a good home for kittens after somebody deposited a litter of them in their farm’s backyard.  I claimed one without seeing kittens first.  We instantly fell in love with our tiny 9-months old  tuxedo kitten.  15 years had passed, and the cat, Dina, is still with us.

Crazy Things Dina Does:

  • Dina talks – short meows, long meows, deep meows, soft half-“meh”.  She developed quite a vocabulary!
  • Dina is my personal alarm clock. Every morning she’d be quietly sitting on my bed and staring at me.  As soon as my alarm goes off she becomes vocal until I feed her. Then she’ll go back to sleep.
  • Like a concierge,  Dina is monitoring all comings and goings.  She could be sitting next to me on the sofa, purring; then she abruptly leaves my side and comes to sit by the door.  Next minute I hear my daughter or boyfriend inserting the key in the lock.  Dina somehow hears them coming much in advance.
  • Dina is also a food inspector.  As soon as someone open the fridge she’s right there, staring inside as if she’s deciding on what to eat.  When we eat at the table, she’d be standing tall on her hind legs and  lightly tapping one of us with one paw while supporting herself with other on the chair.
  • She never misses Easter basket inspection.

  • Dina is my protector.  When my marriage went sour and my ex-husband was having heating arguments with me she peed in his running shoes.  Dina was sending her message 😉

She brings us much happiness and love.  I wish I could keep her forever!

22 Responses to “A Very Special Cat.”

  1. calluswhatever November 21, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    cute kitty!!

    visit us 🙂
    http://calluswhatever.wordpress.com/

  2. Melisa R November 22, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    I love cats too! Dina seems like a wonderful companion.

  3. heartflow2012 December 2, 2012 at 12:27 am #

    Cats are special! Ours, Merlina, has the nickname “Centerpiece of the Universe” !

  4. Healthy Glow Nutrition December 4, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    She is precious! I LOVE cats as well. My cat used to hiss at my brother and my mom when they used to argue with me. He was my baby 😦 I miss him to this day 😦

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves December 4, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

      Thank you! Cats are very protective of the ones they have a soft spot for. Sorry, he’s not with you anymore 😦

      • Healthy Glow Nutrition December 4, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

        It’s ok, thank you! He’s always in my heart 🙂

  5. chemocurls December 6, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    Beautiful cat! Loved your story. It brought back memories of all the cats I have loved in my life. The latest was a big tom cat that “adopted” us. It was funny to watch him move a 70-pound dog with one swat of his paw. Charlie ruled, and we miss him terribly. Nothing is more relaxing than listening to a cat purr. Thanks for reading and liking my blog. God bless. Connie

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves December 6, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

      It’s incredible how much joy our pets bring us. I smiled when I read about Charlie 🙂
      Btw, your blog is very inspiring!

  6. 61chrissterry December 6, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    Thank you for viewing my blog. I enjoyed reading your articles and I am glad that you have a very faithful and loving companion.

  7. dearferrero December 11, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    What a beautiful, elegant animal. My grandfather was Ukrainian. I feel happy and privileged for having been given the opportunity to learn the language and culture of his homeland. What region did you grow up in?

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves December 11, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

      Дякую / Thank you for reading! I agree, cats are so graceful. I am from Bukovina, the sub-Carpathian region of south-west Ukraine. The region is known for its’ fabulous beechwood, beautifully painted churches and some remote areas with rural lifestyle. What area is your grandfather from?

      • dearferrero December 11, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

        From the pictures I’ve seen, Bukovina offers some breathtaking views. My Дідусь was from Konyukhy, a village in the region of L’viv. I was incredibly fond of him. My grandparents used to have a calico cat called Мурко.. 🙂

      • The Kat and The Falling Leaves December 11, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

        Львів is so beautiful, especially the Old City area. I have been there several times as it is fairly close my city, Чернівці. My first tuxedo cat was called Мурка!
        P.S. I am impressed with your Ukrainian.

      • dearferrero December 11, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

        Дуже дякую! I should really plan a trip to Ukraine next summer. Будь здорова…

      • The Kat and The Falling Leaves December 11, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

        You will not be disappointed! I am going to Ukraine next April for Ortho Easter and will try to blog as much as I can about Ukrainian people, food, and celebrations. Хорошого дня!
        P.S. We have Львівське пиво here in Toronto. I think, they are one of the sponsors for the Ukie festival.

      • dearferrero December 11, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

        I can’t wait to read your post and check out the pictures. Meanwhile, let’s look forward to a merry Christmas with борщ, голубці, варенники, кутя and пампушки aplenty! На добраніч!

      • The Kat and The Falling Leaves December 11, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

        Please see these images: https://thekatandthefallingleaves.wordpress.com/2012/11/02/itching-to-travel/
        I’ll making all 12 dishes на Святий Вечір! На добраніч!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sunshine Blogger Award! | rarasaur - November 29, 2012

    […] The Kat & the Falling Leaves: For being a great cat owner, a wonderful chef, and an upbeat blogger: https://thekatandthefallingleaves.wordpress.com/2012/11/20/a-very-special-cat/ […]

Leave a Reply

