Ukrainian Green Borsch / Зелёный Борщ

9 Aug

Ukrainian Green Borsch / Зелёный Борщ

Unlike its’ hearty cousin (red beet borsch ) with strong flavours that warm you up during cold winter days, this borsch is light and can be eaten hot or cold. It is known in all Eastern European cousins and sometimes also called Sorrel or Shchav Soup.

As with many other traditional recipes, there are endless variations of this borsch.  I am going to share the version made in my family.  I “eat with my eyes” first and 4 simple but colourful ingredients make this borsch very appetizing.

Still steaming!

Still steaming!

Green borsch is traditionally made from lemony sorrel.  I am yet to find sorrel in Toronto so I made it with spinach and some vinegar to re-create that light tangy flavor of sorrel.  You can substitute sorrel with any other leafy greens too (swiss chard, beet greens, etc).

TIP: Add your greens just before turning off the heat, or your borsch will be brown instead of bright emerald.

My dad liked this borsh garnished with roughly chopped hard-boiled egg; my mom preferred it in the manner of an egg drop soup where you gradually pour in beaten egg into the boiling liquid.  I equally like both versions.

To serve – do it as Ukrainians do: with sour cream and chopped dill.  I can’t think of anything that is served without either sour cream or dill or both :D

Ingredients (Serves 2):

  • 1 large or 2 small carrots, cut any way you like (cubed, chopped, grated or sliced)
  • 1 large or 2 small potatoes, cut in cubes
  • 4 cups chicken stock or water
  • 3 cups sorrel or spinach, thick stems removed
  • 2-3 tsp vinegar
  • S & P to taste

Garnishes:

  • 1 egg (either hard-boiled or beaten), sour cream, chopped dill

Directions:

  1. Bring chicken stock or water to boil, add carrots and potatoes.
  2. Cook for 15 – 20 minutes or until tender, and season with salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Add your greens, vinegar and beaten egg (if using) and turn off the heat
  4. Garnish and serve hot or cold.
19 Responses to “Ukrainian Green Borsch / Зелёный Борщ”

  1. abrooke65 August 9, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

    Wow! I just had this on Brighton Beach with my grandma. Delicious. I was wondering what in the world they made it with. The menu was completely in Russian so I just pointed at the picture. Thanks for deconstructing it. I will add it to my to-do list!

  2. Darya August 9, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

    Yay! My mom makes sorrel soup now and then, especially when she can gather fresh sorrel from their neighbour’s garden! She does the cream+dill+chopped boiled eggs version and it is delicious! I have never made it myself before though!

  3. fabulousfannyjr August 9, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

    Reblogged this on global_food.

  4. acuriousgal August 9, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

    So yummy, can’t wait to try this

  5. george-b August 9, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    Reblogged this on euzicasa and commented:
    what a treat

  6. Ese' s Voice August 10, 2013 at 1:01 am #

    MMMMMM! Delicious! And does bring back memories from my childhood :)

  7. scolgin August 10, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

    Wow, always wondering what to do w/ all the sorrel in my garden. I made this for lunch, delicious — thank you!!! Ironically, the type of sorrel I have growing is red-stalked, which of course turned my green borscht red!!!

    • The Kat and The Falling Leaves August 11, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

      I am yet to try the soup with this sorrel variety. The color must have been pale red, right?

      • scolgin August 11, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

        It was kind of purply red, actually. Kinda weird. But delicious! (Missed the dill, though…)

      • The Kat and The Falling Leaves August 11, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

        It’s fine without the dill too, light and tangy.

  8. russianmartini August 12, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

    Ooh, I’ve forgotten about this! may need to make it soon. Sorrel is shavel’ ? I think that’s what my mom used. Thanks for stopping by and “liking” my pelmeni post!

  9. Sheryl @ Flowery Prose August 16, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    I will have to try this – it looks delicious! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 304 other followers

